The Racing Centre (formally The New Astley Club) is an independent charity that has been a long-standing facility for stud and stable staff. Originally founded by Sir John Astley in 1893, it has stood in its current location since 1975. The club has always been popular amongst the racing community and is a home-from-home for its 1400 members.
The new development carried out in 2014 after a strategic review and consultation period with the community, members and stakeholders. Nearly £600,000 has was raised to support the charities revamp which has seen it create a new identity as The Racing Centre reflecting the variety of services on offer on a daily basis.
At the heart of that development is RACEFIT; a fitness and rehabilitation service, which boasts a brand new state of the art gym equipped with racehorsesimulator and a treatment room.
The charity continues to build on the many sporting and social activities available, including the boxing club, football, bowls and snooker teams and the annual inter-yard tournaments that are enjoyed by so many, including the 2016 Racing Staff Sports Day, which featured 196 competitors from 27 different racing yards and studs.
The refurbished Bar/Café provides daily meals with many activities and events such as Quiz Nights, Festival Preview Evenings and Live Music, and is also available to hire for private functions.
The Racing Centre, which is one of the beneficiaries of the Betfair sponsored Newmarket Open Day, has had fantastic support from the towns trainers, stud owners, vets and Jockey Club Estates, many of which have donated all of the gym equipment.